Fender 63’ reissue 1 button footswitch faulty?!

Schematics, layouts & other technical mumbo jumbo.

Moderator: The Captain

Post Reply
User avatar
Doc Holliday
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:41 pm
Location: UK West Midlands

Fender 63’ reissue 1 button footswitch faulty?!

Post by Doc Holliday » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:44 pm

Guys this is a brand new footswitch for my outboard spring tank.
I noticed today the lead going into the plug attatched to the enclosure of the switch was intermittent.
If I twisted it a little or pulled at it it would cut in and out.
I opened it up and I believe it is shorting.
I’ve drawn a really crap sketch as I’m not at home but there seems to be 3 groups of wires. One which looks to be grounded to the inside of the 1/4 jack plug enclosure one which is grounded to the middle where the plug is on the opposite side and a small group of wires loose which I believe to be the problem.
I had to order it in from a shop online who ordered it from fender so if it’s an easy fix I’d rather do it myself.
Save sending it back and waiting on order for another.

Anyone got any ideas around it as I think if I tug at the cable these loose wires are shorting inside the plug enclosure.
Instagram : the_doc_holliday :tu:
User avatar
Doc Holliday
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:41 pm
Location: UK West Midlands

Re: Fender 63’ reissue 1 button footswitch faulty?!

Post by Doc Holliday » Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:48 pm

MY sketch
Attachments
F0266928-9F20-42BF-B80F-41298BB4953B.jpeg
F0266928-9F20-42BF-B80F-41298BB4953B.jpeg (532.09 KiB) Viewed 361 times
Instagram : the_doc_holliday :tu:
User avatar
jerms
Posts: 5476
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 10:39 pm
Location: back in the basement!!

Re: Fender 63’ reissue 1 button footswitch faulty?!

Post by jerms » Tue Mar 13, 2018 7:46 pm

there are only 2 connections on the plug so i'd tape up all the extra wires... or ditch that cable and use some brown lamp cord like the originals
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(") reverb-jermshop
User avatar
Doc Holliday
Posts: 2460
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:41 pm
Location: UK West Midlands

Re: Fender 63’ reissue 1 button footswitch faulty?!

Post by Doc Holliday » Tue Mar 13, 2018 9:33 pm

Cheers Jim! Mad just to have that left over wire just sitting around in there??? Would have thought they’d of cut it out or taped it. I’ve got some electrical tape I’ll get it done! Thanks. Wasn’t sure if it was a bad design or if that wire was suppose to be soldered to something??
Instagram : the_doc_holliday :tu:
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests