JMI Trash

General discussion, shit shooting, banter and sexual innuendo

Moderator: The Captain

Lee

JMI Trash

Post by Lee »

"Acid Fuzz on their Facebook Page Wrote"

Many of the newer production “mojo” germanium transistors you see out there on the market are the byproduct of the work I did with a Srilankan electrical engineer who was trained in the 1960’s when germanium was the norm. As the owner of Acid Fuzz pedals I have been collecting the holy grail fuzz transistors since my 20’s and several years ago I realized that they are now ~all gone. It became such an issue that some were even faking devices by re-stamping transistors with “NKT275” etc… So, as a lover of vintage fuzz sounds who could see the end of the road ahead, I decided to do something about the situation. I found an engineer who knew the germanium wafer manufacturing process exceedingly well and we spent several years and more money than I care to admit making clones of the best examples from my collection.

Acid Fuzz is a small company and we do almost zero marketing. So, very few people actually know these devices exist. We use them in our own pedals and do not sell the transistors as such. What’s unfortunate is that I received a fuzz pedal for repair made by a very well known larger company in the UK with a three letter acronym name. When I agreed to repair the pedal which the owner described as “noisy” and “just does not sound right for the money I paid”, I had no idea the the manufacturer was actually purchasing my rejected transistors and using them in their products, marketing them as “NOS” transistors, meaning New Old Stock. I was shocked to see my rejected transistors in a product that cost twice as much as an Acid Fuzz pedal. The owner said it was new, but I had to be sure it wasn’t a case of someone tampering with the pedal and re-selling it. So, I ordered one directly from the company in the UK. That confirmed things. My rejected transistors again.