Red Rooster - odd transistor?

Tonal shaping & volume boosting delivered with germanium love.

Moderator: The Captain

Paisley
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:08 pm

Red Rooster - odd transistor?

Post by Paisley » Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:18 pm

Hey all, Newbie here; greetings from Oz. :tu:

Just picked up my first D.A.M. pedal; an early RR (serial # 036). I was on the verge of putting my name on the RR list, when this came up for sale. I couldn't try it out first (it was 2000km away), so I just bought it & took pot luck.

I'd read on here about some of the different Transistors used in the RR, so I was surprised to find an AC170 inside. I've not been able to trawl up any info on a RR using an AC170, so I was worried that the pedal might have been some sort of elaborate fake; however it's signed & dated by David inside the rear panel.

Did some RRs come out with AC170s in them, or has a previous owner swiped a nice trannie (OC71?..) & replaced it with this one? :paranoid:

Cheers!! :wink2:
User avatar
Funky Druid
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:05 am
Location: PL

Post by Funky Druid » Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:51 pm

Transistor is mounted directly into board or on socket?
Could You post circuit board shot?
User avatar
jetofuj
Posts: 3528
Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 3:46 pm
Location: PL

Post by jetofuj » Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:56 pm

Dave used many different transistors in Red Roosters - he used ACxxx's in that time and he is using modern AC128 again now.
User avatar
Funky Druid
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:05 am
Location: PL

Post by Funky Druid » Fri Nov 18, 2011 4:30 pm

Here's gut shot from old unit from 2003, maybe with AC***
Image
User avatar
devnulljp
Posts: 6927
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 10:02 am
Location: Gulf Islands, BC, Canada

Post by devnulljp » Fri Nov 18, 2011 5:39 pm

^That one's mine with an AC176 (and it sounds excellent).
I'm sure yours is a killer rooster.
Post pics!
Dear Bongo, No.
Good deals with all these guys
FuzzPauper
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2009 1:24 am
Location: Here

Post by FuzzPauper » Fri Nov 18, 2011 7:06 pm

Yes! Post pics please.

~PotF
The juice is worth the squeeze.

http://www.sydsguitars.com
Paisley
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:08 pm

Re:

Post by Paisley » Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:07 am

Funky Druid wrote:Transistor is mounted directly into board or on socket?
Could You post circuit board shot?

Thanks for the replies everyone. Yes the Transistor is mounted on a socket.
I'd actually googled RR & AC170 together & came up with nothing, so that's set my mind at rest a bit to know he was using AC**** Transistors.

Here's a couple of pics (excuse the blurriness); She's done a few miles by the look of it!! :hihi: Looking forward to trying it out at the gig tonight.

Image

Image
User avatar
devnulljp
Posts: 6927
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 10:02 am
Location: Gulf Islands, BC, Canada

Post by devnulljp » Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:11 am

Looks like AC176 to me ...
(I know #38 had an AC176, as done mine #23)

Cool!

So that's 3 roosters in Australia now that I'm lusting after. Damn!
Dear Bongo, No.
Good deals with all these guys
User avatar
Philip
Posts: 10174
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:22 pm

Post by Philip » Sat Nov 19, 2011 1:29 pm

It's well used so obviously sounds ace!
Paisley
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:08 pm

Re:

Post by Paisley » Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:13 pm

devnulljp wrote:Looks like AC176 to me ...
(I know #38 had an AC176, as done mine #23)

Cool!

So that's 3 roosters in Australia now that I'm lusting after. Damn!
I think you might be right about it being an AC176; the end of the Transistor has marks on it that obscure part of the last digit of the code. I took it as a 0, but it could easily be a 6.

The gamble definitely paid off though; this thing sounds fantastic!! Was able to dial in the perfect amount of top end for the TB channel on my AC30; it made the Amp absolutely sing. Very happy!!
:tu:
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest