Master Volume in a Rooster?

Tonal shaping & volume boosting delivered with germanium love.

Moderator: The Captain

User avatar
hyeronimusss
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:04 am

Post by hyeronimusss » Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:46 pm

Thanks for the explanation Brad, now (I think) I understand. But this is what I should have asked in the first place: all I want is the Lo Driver on as a preamp (but with full volume, not dimed), and jump on the RR without the volume boost!
Would this work with a master level in the RR?
I'm fully aware of my dumbness :zombiehuh:
User avatar
hyeronimusss
Posts: 124
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 12:04 am

Re:

Post by hyeronimusss » Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:54 pm

DucRyder wrote:Brad of course is totally correct. That being said I think maybe hyperonimusss would like two boosters in series one to overdrive the other and that to drive the amp. Buy another booster and link 'em up maybe? Get a custom build from one of the builders here?

That's a good idea...
Thanks guys for the patience :bangs head:
User avatar
devnulljp
Posts: 6965
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2008 10:02 am
Location: Gulf Islands, BC, Canada

Post by devnulljp » Wed Sep 21, 2011 6:55 pm

You already have a master level in the RR. If you added another volume pot, all it would do is reduce the output, same as if you turned the Boost knob down, so you wouldn't get a boost.
You need an attenuator.
Dear Bongo, No.
Good deals with all these guys
User avatar
schultzvil
Posts: 72
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:49 pm
Location: Southern Germany/ Los Angeles

Re: Master Volume in a Rooster?

Post by schultzvil » Wed Sep 21, 2011 8:23 pm

I might be a little off base, or maybe it was that last glass of wine,
but you are almost describing a ZVEX Super Duper.... (two SHOs in one pedal)
anyone?

lex

p.s. obviously minus the germanium goodness...
good deals with pigeontoe, wheelman, devnulljp, mjab-1, evergud
User avatar
Cado
Posts: 1241
Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:01 am
Location: Queens

Re: Master Volume in a Rooster?

Post by Cado » Wed Sep 21, 2011 9:04 pm

I was always under the impression that the Rooster's tranny provides a lot of the dirt & the boost in volume pushes the amp harder.
User avatar
mjkk
Posts: 2362
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:11 am

Post by mjkk » Wed Sep 21, 2011 9:46 pm

What about steves double sugar boost made by brad????
"Yes I remember a brave guy named Roger dancing around musicians and cleaning their shoes. Occasionally we gave him our broken pedals for repair to get peace for some hours."
User avatar
Dr.Sonic
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:42 am
Location: MADRID - SPAIN

Re: Master Volume in a Rooster?

Post by Dr.Sonic » Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:11 pm

ThiS! :crackjam:

Image
User avatar
Creepyfingers
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:59 pm

Re:

Post by Creepyfingers » Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:58 pm

hyeronimusss wrote:Thanks for the explanation Brad, now (I think) I understand. But this is what I should have asked in the first place: all I want is the Lo Driver on as a preamp (but with full volume, not dimed), and jump on the RR without the volume boost!
Would this work with a master level in the RR?
I'm fully aware of my dumbness :zombiehuh:
Yo, like I said a booster set at unity gain (without the volume boost) will not give you any "dirt" you will just have to accept that. The 'dirt" is a product of the volume boost. Also again the RR has a volume control already. Adding one would be like adding a butthole next to your butthole.
To illustrate further, running a booster like the RR into an amp that has lots of clean headroom will only give you an increase in volume. No distortion. Until the booster starts exceeding the preamps headroom you won't get that tone. Although a Rangemaster circuit isn't a linear booster (it adds a hint of dirt) it needs another stage to hit to create distortion. Dr Sonic's schematic has dual controls for gain and output volume but its still just a one stage booster so unless its got another stage to overdrive it wouldn't address the problem you are facing.
That Deluxe Sugarboost I built was an attempt to create a sort of tonal emulation of the sound you get from the Rangemaster/amplifier preamp relationship at any volume. Fun

--Brad
User avatar
Dr.Sonic
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:42 am
Location: MADRID - SPAIN

Re: Re:

Post by Dr.Sonic » Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:07 am

Creepyfingers wrote:Dr Sonic's schematic has dual controls for gain and output volume but its still just a one stage booster so unless its got another stage to overdrive it wouldn't address the problem you are facing.
You can remove the gain control from the schematic and use the volume pot of your guitar, that's in fact how I use a rangemaster.
User avatar
Creepyfingers
Posts: 1514
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 8:59 pm

Re: Master Volume in a Rooster?

Post by Creepyfingers » Thu Sep 22, 2011 12:29 am

Dr.Sonic wrote:
Creepyfingers wrote:Dr Sonic's schematic has dual controls for gain and output volume but its still just a one stage booster so unless its got another stage to overdrive it wouldn't address the problem you are facing.
You can remove the gain control from the schematic and use the volume pot of your guitar, that's in fact how I use a rangemaster.
hyeronimusss wants the sound of a Red Rooster boost without the significant increase in volume to his signal. No type of pre or post volume control can solve that problem for him. A pre gain control can vary "cleanliness" of the signal by lowering the input volume and hence lowering the output volume. Do that and you are no longer boosting or overdriving the amps input. Back to square one.
One thing you can do though is run your amp as distorted as you can put up with. That way the volume boost of the Red Rooster won't be as extreme when engaged. The cleaner the amp. The more obvious the volume boost will be. If you're used to running your amp dead clean I can't help you...
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests